Just learned of his addiction

This section is for friendship related discussion such as sports, recipes, jokes, birthday wishes, etc. We DO Recover.
Sweetlmf
option_firstname:

Just learned of his addiction

Post by Sweetlmf » Mon Sep 04, 2017 11:00 pm

Hi all, I'm very new to all of this and very scared. My boyfriend of about 3 months just came clean that he's been using meth for the full length of our relationship. He's lied about it in the past when I found his pipe and said he uses here and there. He also told me that turning 30 was a big deal and that there would be a ton of changes. Well this weekend he was very sick, I was so concerned, sleeping all of the time, almost flu like symptoms.. I started googling withdrawal symptoms of meth and everything matched right on. Well, I was 100% right, he had quit meth on his 30th birthday about a week and a day ago... he's going thru the nasty withdrawal and it's very painful to watch..

Just a little history about me and my love. We started a great friendship about a year and a half ago and I just adored this guy. He did 14 years in the military and just all around a great guy! My love for this man changed and grew into a romantic love and the same thing happened to him for me.. we ended up taking things very fast and moved in together and decided to start a life together. It's been an amazing 3 months! This weekend though has scared me and has me very concerned. He's been sleeping a lot and from my understanding that's normal for the recovery process. Side note: Just hearing the word meth bring me to a deep anxiety :(

He's expressed that he wants to start a family with me and that he's done with meth. He does not want it in his life anymore. I'm happy he's become honest, however I just hope and pray that he stays strong and makes it thru this.