New to Nar-Anon

With the understanding that addiction is a disease and the realization that we are powerless over it as well as over people's lives, we are ready to do something useful and constructive with our own.

Then, and only then can we be of any help to others.

Moderator: Moderators

robynx125
option_firstname:

New to Nar-Anon

Post by robynx125 » Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:51 pm

Hello everyone, I am new to the Nar-Anon community but I am not new to being on the other end of a loved one's addiction. I have never shared my story or my struggles with anyone before so having this opportunity to do so is extremely meaningful to me.

My partner has been struggling with a heroin addiction as well as an addiction to prescription medications for the last three years of our relationship. For me, the most challenging part of my role in this relationship has been my unwavering compassion and unconditional love. When I met her she was not using. She was in outpatient recovery and had been clean for a year. In my head I didn't see her as an "addict" at all. I saw her as an intelligent, funny, beautiful girl. At the same time, I will admit I was fairly ignorant about the intensity of addiction. I have always been supportive of her well-being and encouraged her to stay clean throughout our relationship. I don't use drugs nor have I ever been an addict. We would do sober things together and I knew all the triggers. We successfully avoided them and life was good. She had the greatest sense of humor, was so sweet towards me and became my best friend in this world. I could tell her anything. She loved me for me and it was the most authentic connection I had ever had with another human being. I thought I was the luckiest woman in the world to find a love like this.