Walking away is so hard :(

With the understanding that addiction is a disease and the realization that we are powerless over it as well as over people's lives, we are ready to do something useful and constructive with our own.

Then, and only then can we be of any help to others.

Moderator: Moderators

snair
option_firstname:

Walking away is so hard :(

Post by snair » Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:33 pm

I'm new to this form... I've attended an Al anon meeting once while my partner was in rehab for cocaine addiction, but couldn't really connect with those in that particular meeting.

I just ended things with my partner (we're both 38 years old). He has 4 year old girls, and I have a 4 year old son. Our families were very connected which makes leaving even harder. It has been an emotional rollercoaster, especially over the last year. He is also bipolar and when we first started dating he was open about that - but not about his 23 year struggle with addictions. I love him, so when the drug use came to light after he went on a bender and lost control... I stayed. I felt so much empathy for him - he seemed to really want to beat it.