Brother's intervention yesterday and now in rehab

With the understanding that addiction is a disease and the realization that we are powerless over it as well as over people's lives, we are ready to do something useful and constructive with our own.

Then, and only then can we be of any help to others.

Moderator: Moderators

em0722au
option_firstname:

Brother's intervention yesterday and now in rehab

Post by em0722au » Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:54 pm

So this is my first time here and I am a little nervous but I want to be educated and I know that I need support. We staged an intervention with my brother yesterday (Sunday 1/28/17) with a hired interventionist (who was amazing) and my brother accepted the help! We found out late last night that he arrived safely in detox across the country and we are currently in a 2 week black out period. The past several days have felt like a fog and so surreal, but today is a new day and he is safe.

Anyways, I was just wondering if you all had any advice on how my family can take care of ourselves as well as our loved one? One of the things my mom and I have been wondering about is.......what goes on in the head of an addict during an intervention? My brother was very stoic during the intervention but then emotional when he was leaving. He didn't think his problem was bad enough to warrant the intervention and the stay in rehab but we knew how badly affecting our lives and his.

I am going to my first actual meeting tomorrow and am holding my family members that were part of the intervention team accountable for going to their first meeting within the week.

Any advice, words of encouragement, or comments would so greatly appreciated. I am so thankful to have found a place where I can get help too!

Knappster
option_firstname: Joan

Re: Brother's intervention yesterday and now in rehab

Post by Knappster » Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:07 pm