me too

With the understanding that addiction is a disease and the realization that we are powerless over it as well as over people's lives, we are ready to do something useful and constructive with our own.

Then, and only then can we be of any help to others.

Moderator: Moderators

Charlottesmom
option_firstname: Jeanette

me too

Post by Charlottesmom » Thu Dec 28, 2017 1:47 pm

I have never used this forum before, but I feel compelled to have a discussion about the secrecy of addiction. I have been thinking a lot recently about the stigma associated with addiction. We usually keep our loved one's addiction a secret outside of our Nar-Anon family, but I wonder if there should be a "me too" movement for addiction. Thoughts?

DontWant2BLost
option_firstname:

Re: me too

Post by DontWant2BLost » Thu Dec 28, 2017 2:03 pm

I have been thinking about the secrecy too over the holidays. My husband and my's christmas has been spent monitoring my 29 year old son's withdrawals and trips to emergency rooms. Now how to cut him off from us. There is no celebration whatsoever. But I haven't even been able to tell my best friend any of this. She has all these stories about grandkids and traditions. I just try to end the conversation so I can go cry. Why can't I tell the truth and ask for support? I have been trying to figure out what that is all about.

DontWant2BLost
option_firstname:

Post by DontWant2BLost » Thu Dec 28, 2017 2:29 pm

I do think it would help if we (and the addict) could come out of the closet and not risk judgment or pity. A 'me too' movement would help show that many of us (and our addicted children) are struggling. We could talk about it openly and remove the stigma's that surround it.

jeanette
option_firstname:

Post by jeanette » Thu Dec 28, 2017 2:38 pm

I have been in these rooms for a long time -

When I ended up "telling what was going on", very few of those around me were surprised.