How do you deal with it all?

With the understanding that addiction is a disease and the realization that we are powerless over it as well as over people's lives, we are ready to do something useful and constructive with our own.

Then, and only then can we be of any help to others.

Moderator: Moderators

Jw103
option_firstname:

How do you deal with it all?

Post by Jw103 » Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:39 pm

I’m fairly new to this but have been finding a lot of comfort in the posts from others. Today is a particularly tough day though. It’s one of those days that I have to really dig deep to get the strength to not burst into tears randomly.
How do you all deal with the hurtful things said by Your ALO?
I mean some days it’s like living with Jeckel and Hyde, one minute he’s the sweet loving man I know. Full of ambition, ideas and charisma and then the drug creeps in and life is one big ball of paranoia. The words and accusations that flow after that don’t make sense and I can see in his eyes that he knows the words he is speaking are confused and he doesn’t mean the hurtful things he says. I know he doesn’t mean them either and a few hours from now there will be apologizing for some of his actions/words and some he will still try to defend and blame me for. It’s never the cocaine that’s the problem in his eyes, it’s always someone or something else. And maybe he’s right, the cocaine didn’t cause the problems in life but I wish he could see that it’s the thing that’s holding him back from ever being able to resolve anything and move forward. How can we ever communicate if he’s always hiding behind a veil of cocaine induced confusion?
Thanks for letting me vent.

Louise01
option_firstname:

Re: How do you deal with it all?

Post by Louise01 » Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:50 pm