Visit with Son in Jail Update

With the understanding that addiction is a disease and the realization that we are powerless over it as well as over people's lives, we are ready to do something useful and constructive with our own.

Then, and only then can we be of any help to others.

Moderator: Moderators

lbogie
option_firstname: Lois

Visit with Son in Jail Update

Post by lbogie » Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:08 pm

Hi Everyone,

My Husband and I went to visit our Son in jail yesterday. It was a good visit, good to see our Son. We had not seen him in 18 months and he has been incarcerated since his arrest last November. He looked healthy and we had good conversation. We bought a vending machine card and treated him to some snacks. It was good to see him, hug him, sit and talk with him and we just visited our Son. It was good to laugh with him, it's been awhile! It was not as emotional as I had anticipated aka "expected" :roll: so, one day at a time.

I'm still learning every day and I recognized that I was calm, honest, loving, caring and direct. He asked for nothing and somehow we were talking about opportunities offered where he is located. "Someone"...... in the marriage asks way more questions than (his wife) lol shaking my head. Hubby went to the restroom and Son and I were chatting. I told him that our recoveries can't be intertwined but could be parallel. He said, oh I was hoping you could "help" me. I looked right in his eyes, told him that addicts help addicts, I can only love him. :) He said he doesn't know how. I said you will find out if you choose to. He is starting a 4 month program. Not sure what that means. I really did try not to ask too many questions.