A Newbie Story

With the understanding that addiction is a disease and the realization that we are powerless over it as well as over people's lives, we are ready to do something useful and constructive with our own.

Then, and only then can we be of any help to others.

Moderator: Moderators

bighog2040
option_firstname:

A Newbie Story

Post by bighog2040 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:25 pm

Hi there,
Newbie here that has finally reached a breaking point. I'm 34 years old and I have addict parents. I'm an only child and I'm all they really have so I'm completely lost right now.

A backstory is both parents were known partiers growing up. Alcohol, recreational drug use: marijuana, cocaine, and I've learned heroin was also tried. They have been together 35 years but it is a toxic relationship where at times has been physical, most recently 2 weeks ago. Both are on disability so they don't work. My mom won't leave my dad and get help for this very reason. They are co-dependent on each other.

My dad still drinks while my mom doesn't. However, both deal with bouts of depression, anxiety and pain management so they abuse highly addictive prescription drugs. If they come up short at the end of the month, they have been known to go out on the streets to get it. Both do it to numb themselves for whatever reason they can think of that day. As I said they are both on disability, so they have no responsibilities, or any hobbies. They sit around all day and medicate in their apartment. As motivator to get on them back on their feet and get clean, I gave them a car in hopes they would use it to come over to see their granddaughter. But it has been nothing but excuses as to why they won't usually its too cold, they are sick or tired, or just blow me off completely.